Faculty and Students Recognized by AIA Central States

Faculty and Students Recognized by AIA Central States

By Kerry McCulloug...

November 15, 2016

Blue Barn

Faculty, students and alumni from the College of Architecture were among the honorees at this year’s Central States Region Design Excellence Awards Celebration held October 20th in Manhattan, Kansas.

Architectural Program Director Jeffrey L. Day and the Omaha and San Francisco based architectural firm Min | Day won the Merit Award for their Rebar Wall design, a facade detail from the Blue Barn Theatre building in Omaha, Nebraska. Other members of the design team included: Architecture Lecturers Ashley Byars and Geoff DeOld and Daniel Conces, Drew Kleman, Dennis Krymuza and Kristen Smith.

The project was conceived as a new arts hub in a rapidly changing district near downtown Omaha. The experimental theatre opens to the outdoors through a public open space where the façade greets its visitors. Earlier in October, the building design won an AIA Nebraska Honor Award.

College of Architecture students from the local chapter of the American Institute of Architecture were also recognized at the ceremony. The students participated in a charrette style competition working in teams competing against five other regional architecture schools. The charrette was held October 19th and lasted 12 hours. The project involved a master plan for reconnecting the city to the river on the south side of downtown Manhattan. The team, composed of undergraduate architecture students Taylor Bissert, Mallory Lane, Megan Peterson and Mariah Tobin, worked all day in the office of Tim Clark Architecture and presented the work to the jury and the public on Thursday morning, October 20th. The UNL team won third place in the competition - the first time UNL has placed since this competition began.

In addition, multiple Nebraska College of Architecture alumni were among the award winners determined by the distinguished jury panel. The Central States Region Design Excellence Awards Celebration is an annual event that recognizes outstanding regional architecture from Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska and Oklahoma. The AIA Design Excellence Awards have been developed to encourage and recognize excellence in architecture, to elevate public awareness and to recognize the architects, consultants, contractors and owners whose efforts enhance the built environment.

Entries were judged based on a variety of features, including unique design, originality, extended use attributes, sustainability and use of environmental surroundings.

More information about the Central States Region Design Excellence Awards can be found at: http://aiaks.org/click-here-for-the-aia-ks-csr-conference-awards-submission-link/.