Student Organizations

Student Organizations

Get involved! It’s a great way to make your college years not only successful but memorable and meaningful. Each student organization offers an array of activities and professional development opportunities. It’s a great way to network not only internally but externally with professionals in your interest area. The College of Architecture has so many organizations for you to choose from. Join one or join several, it’s up to you. 


President: Jati Zunaibi,

Vice President: Craig Findlay,

Faculty Sponsor: Jeff Day

The American Institute of Architecture Students (AIAS) is the official student body organization in the Department of Architecture at UNL. As the liaison between the students and practicing professionals, the organization provides close contact with the American Institute of Architects and its members as well as student organizations from other universities. In addition, the AIAS represents the student body on various faculty committees, makes recommendations to the department, hosts visiting speakers, and organizes various social activities. All students in the department are encouraged to actively participate in this organization.

The AIAS chapter at the University of Nebraska- Lincoln is part of a larger, independent, 501c3 non-profit and student-run organization that is more than just a club. This grassroots association is a cooperative between thousands of students in North America (of all ages and academic degrees) committed to helping each other. It provides a sense of community and a forum to share differing views. The AIAS is also a professional organization that is the official voice of architecture students.


President:  Danny Ortega,

Faculty Sponsor: David Karle

Alpha Rho Chi (APX) is the national fraternity for architecture and the allied arts. Our brotherhood unites men and women for the purpose of fellowship and lifelong friendships and our mutual interest in professional development. This is exemplified by the fraternity’s motto: Fidelitas, Amor et Artes


President: Kenneth Brandl,           

Faculty Sponsor: TBA

The UNL Student Chapter of the American Society of Landscape Architects (UNL-SASLA) kicks off the academic year with a cook out. This event helps foster mentoring relationships between upper and lower classes and information sharing about the program. The chapter will include several scheduled activities centered on academics as well as nonacademic activities.


Senator: Emily Drummy, 

ASUN is meant to serve the student on campus by acting as their voice and relaying student opinions to faculty, staff and the Board of Regents.They are a student resource and want to emphasize that their doors are always open. If you are interested in learning about ASUN, have a problem with something on campus, or are passionate about a project and need resources to help you along please let them know.


President: Jessica Svehla,; Sierra Penas,

Faculty Sponsor: Stacy Spale

The Nebraska/Iowa Chapter of ASID is made up of approximately 400 members involved in healthcare, contract, product and residential design. Your membership provides you the opportunity to set side-by-side professional members in job shadowing, chapter trade shows and team meetings, not to mention local student scholarships and awards. To learn more about ASID and the benefits of being a student member watch the video below and visit

IIDA Student Membership provides students enrolled in an interior design program the resources they need for educational and professional development, that are not available on campus. These benefits are exclusive to IIDA Student Members and give aspiring designers unique opportunities to build professional connections that extend well after graduation.

NOMA –  

President: Rousol Aribi,

Secretary: Felipe Lopez,

The National Organization of Minority Architects (NOMA) mission is to champion diversity within the design professions by promoting the excellence, community engagement, and professional development of its members.


President: David Strom,

Faculty Sponsor: Gordon Scholz

The Student Planning Association of Nebraska (SPAN), the organization for planning students in the Master of Community and Regional Planning (MCRP) program at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln.


President: Bryan Perez,

Faculty Sponsor: Mark Hoistad

The Tau Sigma Delta Honor Society in Architecture and Allied Arts is the only national honor society for architecture and design majors that is accredited by the Association of College Honor Societies.

The Society recognizes intellectual achievement, effort and initiative as well as leadership and character. This prize of membership acknowledges undergraduate and graduate students who attain high scholastic standing in their field.

The organization also honors practitioners in the field for excellence in design with the national organization’s Gold Medal Award, which is presented each spring at the ACSA Annual Meeting. The Silver Medal is awarded by individual chapters to a Professional with a record of distinction in design. The Bronze Medal Award is presented to students who have distinguished themselves in design, and is elected by the student membership of the chapter.


President: Brad Wissmueller,

Faculty Sponsor: Tim Hemsath

The US Green Building Council of Nebraska Flatwater Chapter is a coalition of students and young professionals intent on promoting the integration of future leaders into the green building movement.

Student Advisory Board 

1st & 2nd Year Landscape Architecture-

Jacob Jurgens,


3rd & 4th Year Landscape Architecture-

Chandler Nohr,


1st & 2nd Year Interior Design-

Savannah Scoville,


3rd 4th Year Interior Design-

Morgan Ronspies,


1st 2nd Year Architecture-

Benjamin Friesen,


3rd 4th Year Architecture-

Grant Moehlenhoff,


Master of Architecture-

Kristen Schulte, KSCHULTE5@UNL.EDU


Master of Community & Regional Planning-

Kurtis Smith,

Contact Info

College of Architecture
210 Architecture Hall
Lincoln NE 68588-0107
( On-campus, 2-9212 )