NAAB Accreditation Documents

In the United States, most state registration boards require a degree from an accredited professional degree program as a prerequisite for licensure. The National Architectural Accreditation Board (NAAB), which is the sole agency authorized to accredit U.S. professional degree programs in architecture, recognizes three types of degrees: the Bachelor of Architecture, the Master of Architecture, and the Doctor of Architecture. A program may be granted an eight-year term, an eight-year term with conditions, or a two-year term of continuing accreditation, or a three-year term of initial accreditation, depending on the extent of its conformance with established education standards.

Doctor of Architecture and Master of Architecture degree programs may require a non-accredited undergraduate degree in architecture for admission. However, the non-accredited degree is not, by itself, recognized as an accredited degree.

The University of Nebraska–Lincoln Architecture Program offers the following NAAB-accredited degree program(s):

Two-year professional M.Arch program, 58 credit hour program. All applicants must hold a Bachelor of Science degree in Architecture or equivalent from a NAAB accredited institution.

Three-year professional M.Arch program, 92 credit hour program. All students must hold a bachelor’s degree in any field and have completed a college level calculus course (3 credits) prior to beginning coursework. These deficiencies are evaluated by the program director on an individual basis after admission resulting from a review of the applicant’s transcripts and other pertinent professionally-related materials by the Student Affairs Committee.

The next accreditation visit for the UNL architecture program is in 2024.

Accreditation Reports and Responses
National Architectural Accrediting Board Documents:
NCARB ARE Pass Rates
Professional Affiliations